Les jeunes conseillers du Centre Juno Beach

| avril 18, 2018

En novembre dernier, le Centre Juno Beach a été ravi d’accueillir des étudiants de la Priory Federation of Academies d’Angleterre. Ils ont visité le musée et ont participé à l’activité éducative « Les Puzzles à Histoires » dans l’exposition temporaire « De Vimy à Juno : Mémoires des Canadiens en France ». Le groupe a rencontré Pam Calvert, l’une des administratrices de l’Association Juno Beach Centre au Canada. Ils ont partagé leurs points de vue sur les activités éducatives du musée. Le groupe se nomme « Team Juno », et a poursuivi la conversation avec l’équipe du musée. Ils ont devenus les jeunes conseillers du Centre Juno Beach !

Voici ce que Team Juno a dit au sujet de la visite :

Lors de notre visite en France, nous avons eu la chance de visiter le Centre Juno Beach, où nous avons participé à l’activité « Les Puzzles à Histoires ». Nous avons eu l’occasion de rencontrer des membres du personnel du Centre Juno Beach et l’une des administratrices du Canada, qui a demandé à notre groupe ce que nous avions apprécié lors de l’activité et de la visite du musée. Depuis notre rencontre avec Pam au musée, nous avons eu la chance de proposer des idées pour les prochaines expositions temporaires aux équipes du Canada et de la France. Etant donné que notre équipe s’intéresse à l’histoire, nous sommes heureux de parler du Débarquement à divers groupes d’âge et nous espérons leur transmettre notre amour pour l’histoire.

Message de Emily J. leader du groupe :

Je suis tellement heureuse de faire l’intermédiaire entre les étudiants et le personnel du Canada et de la France. C’est agréable d’entendre les différentes idées dans nos réunions à l’école. Certains étudiants sont tellement intéressés par le sujet qu’ils mènent leurs propres recherches. J’ai fait le voyage en France car j’espère devenir professeur et je voulais acquérir de l’expérience. Même si le voyage a eu lieu en novembre, les étudiants en parlent encore comme si c’était hier. Nous nous sommes aperçus que l’histoire du Débarquement n’apparaît pas vraiment dans nos programmes scolaires. Nous espérons aussi que cette opportunité nous aidera à étendre nos connaissances sur le sujet au-delà de la salle de classe.

 

 

Les dépêches de Juno partagent toutes les nouvelles, les événements et les histoires du Centre Juno Beach en France et au Canada. Intéressé à contribuer une histoire sur le blog? Envoyez un courriel à l'éditeur à jbca@junobeach.org.

Laisser un commentaire

Young advisors to the JBC

| April 18, 2018

This past November, the Juno Beach Centre was delighted to welcome students from the Priory Federation of Academies visiting from England. They toured the museum and participated in the Puzzling Stories educational activity in the temporary exhibition ‘“From Vimy to Juno: Remembering Canadians in France”. The group also met with Pam Calvert, one of the Directors of the Juno Beach Centre Association in Canada, in order to share their invaluable insights about the JBC’s educational activities. Adopting the name ‘Team Juno’, the group has continued the conversation with us, becoming young advisors to the JBC!

Here’s what Team Juno had to say about the visit:

Whilst on our school’s Year 7 residential visit to France, we had the pleasure of visiting the Juno Beach Centre, where we took part in the ‘Puzzles’ activity.
We had the opportunity to meet with some of the staff at the Centre and also one of the Directors from Canada, who sought feedback from our group about what we liked about the activity and the museum. Since meeting Pam at the Centre, the group have been fortunate enough to discuss ideas for the new and upcoming exhibits with the team in Canada and France, giving ideas of what we all think makes the perfect activity and how the activity that we took part in can be improved to provide education to the groups that visit the Centre in the future.
Since all of our team is interested in history, we are keen to help introduce the topic of D-Day to a variety of age groups and hopefully pass on the love for history and the topic, even if it is in an indirect way.

A bit about the team, which includes 5 Year 7s (6th Grade) and one Sixth former (11th Grade):

Name (Year 7s) Favourite subjects
Liv B. Art and History
Isaac M. History and Modern Foreign Languages
Ria I. History, Art and Science
Hannah M. History, Art and Maths
Lewis W. Music and History

Message from Sixth Form leader (Emily J.):

I am so excited to have this chance to be able to bridge the gap between the students and the group in Canada and France. It’s so nice to hear the different ideas in our meetings at school. Some students are conducting their own research to help out, because they are so interested in the topic. I managed to go on the residential trip because I am hoping to be a teacher one day and was wanting some work experience within school. It’s nice to see the students in their lessons and, even though the trip was in November, they still talk about it as if it were yesterday. This chance is truly once in a lifetime and I am so pleased that I can be a part of it.

We have all seen that the topic of the D-Day landings doesn’t appear that much in our school curriculum, so we also hope that this opportunity will help us to expand our knowledge beyond the classroom and also have a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into designing an exhibit.

Dispatches from Juno shares all the news, events, and stories from the Juno Beach Centre in France and Canada. Interested in contributing a story to the blog? Email the editor at jbca@junobeach.org.

Leave a Reply