Bourse de recherche 2020 du Centre Juno Beach

| janvier 13, 2020

J’ai pleinement confiance en notre capacité à répondre aux épreuves qui nous attendent.

– Lieutenant-General H.D.G. Crerar, Commandant de l’armée canadienne, message aux troupes à la veille du Jour J

La classe de Bourse de recherche 2020 du Centre Juno Beach est maintenant établie grâce aux professeurs Graham Broad et Katrina Pasierbek!

Vendredi 10 janvier 2020, le responsable des opération de l’Association Centre Juno Beach, Alex Fitzgerald-Black, a rendu visite aux professeurs et étudiants recevant la bourse du Centre Juno Beach en 2020

Après avoir pris une photo de groupe au King’s University College, à London en Ontario, les étudiants ont assisté à une conférence sur le Débarquement à Juno Beach et une présentation sur le Centre Juno Beach.

Les personnes inscrites au nouveau cours d’histoire expérientielle au King’s University College de l’Université Western Ontario ont reçu la bourse du Centre Juno Beach. Le cours universitaire, intitulé « The World Wars in History, Memory, and Reconciliation » (Les guerres mondiales dans l’histoire, la mémoire et la réconciliation), se terminera par un séjour en France et en Belgique en 2020. 

C’est la première fois que la prestigieuse bourse de recherche est octroyée à un groupe. Vingt étudiantes et étudiants se partageront la bourse de 5 000 $, qui compensera les frais associés au cours. 

Dans le cadre du cours, une exposition est prévue au Collège universitaire King’s en novembre 2020. Elle sera consacrée aux liens qui unissent London, en Ontario, et les champs de bataille de Juno Beach; des représentations des gens de la région et des objets de la ville et de la bataille de Normandie à l’été 1944 y figureront.

Communiqué de presse

Les dépêches de Juno partagent toutes les nouvelles, les événements et les histoires du Centre Juno Beach en France et au Canada. Intéressé à contribuer une histoire sur le blog? Envoyez un courriel à l'éditeur à jbca@junobeach.org.

Laisser un commentaire

Class in Session: 2020 Juno Beach Centre Fellowship

| January 13, 2020

I have complete confidence in our ability to meet the tests which lie ahead.

– Lieutenant-General H.D.G. Crerar, Canadian Army commander, message to the troops on the eve of D-Day

The 2020 Juno Beach Centre Fellowship class is now underway with the ample leadership of Professors Graham Broad and Katrina Pasierbek!

On Friday, January 10th 2020 the Juno Beach Centre Association’s Operations and Outreach Manager, Alex Fitzgerald-Black, visited with the professors and students receiving this year’s Juno Beach Centre Fellowship.

The group posed for an inaugural class photograph at King’s University College before adjourning to a classroom for an introductory lecture covering the history of Juno Beach and the Juno Beach Centre.

Back in October, we announced that students in a unique new experiential history course at King’s University College at Western University have been awarded the prestigious Juno Beach Centre Fellowship. The upper-year course, The World Wars in History, Memory, and Reconciliation, includes an overseas program in France and Belgium following a term of classroom studies in 2020.

This is the first time the prestigious Fellowship has been awarded to a group. There will be 20 students who split the $5,000 award to help offset the costs of the course. 

As part of the course, students will complete an exhibit for display at King’s in November 2020 on the relationship between London, Ontario and the Juno Beach battlegrounds, including representations of the people of the region, and items from the town and the battle of Normandy in summer of 1944. We eagerly anticipate the fruits of their research!

DOWNLOAD A COPY OF THE OCTOBER PRESS RELEASE

Dispatches from Juno shares all the news, events, and stories from the Juno Beach Centre in France and Canada. Interested in contributing a story to the blog? Email the editor at jbca@junobeach.org.

Leave a Reply